rss feedfacebooktwitter

District Content - News
Last Updated: Wednesday, 20 September 2023 09:16

Caitlin Clark Wins 93rd AAU James E. Sullivan Award

Written by Administrator

Clark becomes eighth basketball player to win in award's history

2023 SULLIVAN CLARKNEW YORK (Sept. 19, 2023) -- University of Iowa basketball star Caitlin Clark is the winner of the 93rd AAU James E. Sullivan Award. The award was presented Tuesday, September 19 during a special ceremony at the historic New York Athletic Club.

The AAU Sullivan Award has been presented annually by the Amateur Athletic Union (AAU) since 1930 to the most outstanding athlete at the collegiate or Olympic level in the United States.

Clark was determined the winner following a public vote, as well as votes from the AAU Sullivan Award Committee, AAU Board of Directors, sports media, and past winners.

In addition to athletic excellence, the AAU Sullivan Award aims to recognize the qualities of leadership, citizenship, character, and sportsmanship on and off the playing surface.

"I am incredibly humbled,” Clark said. “It is an honor to be selected for this prestigious award that elects a student-athlete that excels on the court and off. All the finalists are equally as deserving. It is special to represent the University of Iowa on this stage."

Clark was the consensus National Player of the Year in women’s collegiate basketball. She earned unanimous first-team All-Big Ten honors and Big Ten Tournament MVP. She helped lead the Hawkeyes to their first National Championship appearance in program history with a 40-point triple-double over No. 1 South Carolina and became the first player in Division I women’s basketball history to record more than 1,000 points and 300 assists in the same season. She was also awarded both the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard of the Year and Dawn Staley Guard of the Year awards – becoming the first student-athlete to win the Dawn Staley Award in three consecutive seasons.

"Caitlin Clark is the epitome of what this award represents. We’re honored to have her name forever entwined with the AAU Sullivan Award and we can’t wait to see what she accomplishes next,” said Jo Mirza, AAU President.

The other finalists for the award included baseball player Dylan Crews, Olympic gymnast Jordan Chiles, University of Tennessee swimmer Jordan Crooks, Olympic swimmer Kate Douglass, and Purdue basketball center Zach Edey.

Clark is the eighth basketball player to take home the AAU Sullivan Award in its 93-year history. Previous winners include Sabrina Ionescu (2019), Breanna Stewart (2015), J.J. Redick (2005), and Bill Walton (1973).

Other prior winners of the prestigious award include fellow University of Iowa athlete Spencer Lee (wrestling, 2019), Michael Phelps (swimming, 2003), Shawn Johnson (gymnastics, 2008) and Peyton Manning (football, 1997). A full list of recipients can be found here.

Take Note:

TAKE NOTE 2022New DISTRICT Awards Banquet Program/Souvenir Book!

The 2023 MD DIstrict AAU Awards Banquet Program/Souvenir Book is now available online!


Read more ...

Visiting Baltimore???

The Visit Baltimore Official Guide contains details about What's Hot, What's Cool and What's New in Baltimore.

Read more ...

Children and Fitness

As the number of obese and overweight children in the United States continues to climb, fitness is a consideration that weighs heavily on the minds of parents, caretakers and teachers.

Read more ...

2022 AAU National Convention


2024 AAU Junior Olympics

2019 Junior olympics TINY

2023 Sullivan Award Winners!

Baltimore Weather